Derby Telegraph Sports Awards 2017

Derby Telegraph

The Derby Telegraph Sports Awards are one of the Midlands’ premier sporting ceremonies. With several years of celebrating sporting greatness behind them, the Derby Telegraph Sports Awards cover all aspects of the sports industry from the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen to sport organisations going the extra mile for their community or charity. 2017 was no different with the glitz and glam of sporting greats and heroes making for one truly unforgettable event. 2017’s ceremony was hosted by pundit legends, David Garrido and Gary Newbon.

David has over 15 years experience in media broadcasting and is most famous for his work as a host on Sky Sports News. A fantastic event host, David had guests entertained for hours with some hilarious anecdotes and effortless style. Gary Newbon is no slouch either with over 45 years’ experience as a journalist, sports speaker, and broadcaster. After working his way up London’s famous Fleet Street, Gary was picked up for sport broadcasting and spent 35 years as the football speaker for ITV Sport.

This storied history has seen Gary report on some of the most memorable and infamous moments in sporting history. Much like his cohort, Gary entertained guests with his incredible life stories and easy on-stage style. While much can be said of the hosts, the winners were who everyone wanted to see. The Midlands’ incredible sports pedigree ensured every category was hotly contested. Among the winners were tennis ace, Jay Clarke, and Commonwealth Games gold medalist, Annie Last. Winning Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year respectively, these two athletes are proof of what Midlands sport can produce.

Not just celebrating individuals, the Derby Telegraph Sports Awards also recognise work done to improve communities and charities. The highly coveted Community Award was presented by Russell Davies, Partner and Head of Dispute Resolution at Smith Partnership, and went to Bounce and Cheer Education (BACE) for their outstanding work in helping children, adults, and people with disabilities get involved in cheerleading, trampolining, rebound therapy, and disability sports.

The Service to Sport Award went to Sporting Futures, a charity who provide sporting hubs around Derbyshire to engage and facilitate young people’s interest in sports. Other winners included Matthew Humphreys, Jenny Swallow, Long Eaton RFC, Derby County Ladies Football Club, Buxton Athletic Club Juniors Fell Running Team, Niamh Emerson, Lewis White, Isobella Cotrell, and Danielle Walters. The Lifetime Achievement Award was another highlight of the night with the venerable Arthur Cox winning the award.

Cox is one of Derby County’s most successful managers. After successful seasons with Newcastle, he moved to Derby County in 1984. Derby were wallowing the Third Division when he took the helm. Within two seasons Cox had won promotion twice to reach the First Division for the first time in seven years. Supported by the likes of Peter Shilton and Dean Saunders, Cox achieved a top-five finish in the 1988-89 season with the Rams becoming surprise contenders for the title.

Serving from 1984 to 1993 Arthur Cox was a stalwart for Midlands sport and he is more than deserving of this award. The celebrations at the Derby Telegraph Sports Awards started early with the lavish event being hosted at the Derby College Roundhouse. A champagne reception was followed by an incredible three-course meal before the winners of each category were announced. A fun silent auction was also held on the night to raise money for Rainbows Hospice. Rainbows are a dedicated charity who help and care for children and young people with life-limiting or life-threatening conditions.

All in all, the night was a roaring success with guests, prize winners, and sponsors all reveling in the bright future of Midlands sports. Smith Partnership were the head sponsor of the event and their commitment to the area only looks to grow as they remain key sponsors for 2018’s Derby Telegraph Sports Awards for the fourth year in succession. 2018’s event looks to exceed all expectations with tantalising tidbits being released prior to the event. Gary Newbon and Gail Emms MBE have already been confirmed as hosts for 2018’s event at the Derby College Roundhouse. This event is one worth noting with fun, style, celebrity, sport, and community in equal measure. Celebrating goodwill, sporting achievement, and a little home county pride, it is little wonder these awards are so highly coveted.